FB Twitter

Sunset Beach

Sunset Beach

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.7


Sunset Beach comfortably accommodates up to eight in four bedrooms and is the perfect home away from home for those looking to stay in Croyde. The cottage, which is set back from the main road is within walking distance of the beach and benefits from off road car parking and a private garden.

Excellent accommodation for a party of 8 people

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a week staying at Sunset Beach in Croyde. Exceptionally clean and well equipped, the 4-bed house was perfect for a family of 6 adults, a toddler and a baby. Minutes from the beach and village centre, we were also ideally placed for exploring the coast north to Woolacombe and south to Saunton Sands. Highly recommended. Thank you.



Lovely house excellent location for village & beach

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at sunset beach, beautiful upside down house. Bedrooms all ground level and open plan living, kitchen and dining area upstairs. Balcony to the front a nice place for your morning coffee.
Property is well equipped, good quality and very comfortable.
Lovely garden space for relaxing in, also well equipped although the loungers are in need of updating.
Village post office is small but just what you need for last minute emergencies, shop for pasties, shop for ice cream and 3 excellent pubs, what more could you need. Village also holds mini markets on certain days.
Beach a 10 minute walk, generally flat all the way there. Clean and safe.
Possibly the only thing was, we didn’t eat in the garden due to the layout of the house, moving food up and down the stairs constantly, wasn’t what we needed on holiday ! ‍♀️




Good location, nice house but in need of some tlc

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely house for a family, in a great position for the beach. Such a pity there are not footpaths into the village - with children, you take your life in your hands having to walk up the sides of the road.

The house was generally clean, although the cafetière was most definitely not, and other items were found dirty - those items not put through the dishwasher between guests, are meant to have been hand washed by the cleaners, but we are certain that had not been done.

The house is meant to sleep up to 8 people, in 4 bedrooms. We never had more than 6 there, but there was not enough cutlery to do more than one meal before running the dishwasher - another set of cutlery is a small outlay, but would make a huge difference.

Also, in the bathrooms there are no hooks to hang towels, dressing gowns etc, and nowhere at all, other than the side of the bath, to put wash bags etc. Shelves and hooks would make a massive difference to the overall impression of the house.

Some of the appliances (dishwasher, and the fan in the ensuite bathroom, for example) struggled to function properly - perhaps someone needs to stay there to give it all a test drive.

Such a shame to have gripes when paying such a high price for a few days away - in a lovely house, in such a beautiful area.




Amanda, My Favourite Cottage replied 69 days ago
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry Sunset Beach did not live up to your expectations. In regards to your issues, we are doing everything we can to make sure that the house is thoroughly cleaned between guests and on occasion as you can imagine the odd items do get missed, if you had let us know whilst there we would have been happy to rectify the issues you found. Some items such as additional cutlery and crockery have been removed due to covid restrictions as we have to run all these items through the dishwasher on a hot wash prior to new guests coming in and with more than one set this can take additional time, and prevent guests entering on time. Sets of metal hooks are provided for the bathroom doors but do tend to get moved around to the bedrooms etc, however, towel rails are in each bathroom. The owners regularly stay at Sunset Beach and will be down in the next few days to check the cottage is in good working order and see if they can address any of the issues you mention.

Beautiful clean and comfortable house.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing holiday. The house was beautifully decorated, clean and extremely comfortable with an amazing view of the sunset and beach from the lounge window. The garden was superb and we made good use of the bbq facilities. I would highly recommend staying at sunset beach we couldn't fault it.



Fab

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was absolutely brilliant - everything we wanted it to be for our sons first holiday. Can’t wait to come back!



Lovely place to gather the family

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lovely open plan living space upstairs allows for plenty of light and views over the bay, useful having a loo upstairs too (which isn’t mentioned on the website I think). The ground floor bedrooms have an ideal layout for two families or four couples. The safe back garden is ideal for young children.
I’d recommend a larger fridge for catering for Eight people and a tumble dryer or washer dryer would be helpful.
Location is great bring close to the village centre and a short walk to the beach. Overall we had a fab holiday, thank you team.




Beautiful views

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely airy house with beautiful views of sunset over the beach
Stylishly decorated-especially bedrooms
Well equipped kitchen
Sun trap in back garden for early evening bbq




Nice place

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice place.
Well equipped.
The only downside is you can only access the garden though the bedrooms




Very good family holiday base

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sunset Beach is an excellent, spacious and very comfortable holiday home, well situated with easy access to both the centre of Croyde and the beach.



Great location - lovely well equipped upside down house

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of this house in Croyde is excellent - short walk to lovely surfing beach - pubs etc.

The house itself is well equipped and has lovely views from the lounge upstairs. The weather wasn’t particularly kind to us so we spent more time in the house than we had planned but it was warm and cosy and you could just see the waves crashing around the cliffs.




Enjoyable weekend stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall we were impressed with the property. Location is as great. However A few things like lawn not being mowed, no access round the back to the garden and cracked bath panel let it down a little



We did see the sunset over the beach from the upside down house.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, upside down house in a fantastic location in the beautiful village of Croyde, the house was tidy and clean (as a clean freak i only had to clean one bathroom sink and dust the tv cabinet) before settling in really comfortably. (Always bring bleach on holiday, but it stayed in the box this year)
Really well equipped, and the management company responded quickly to resolve a problem with tv and bins and replaced the tv box that same afternoon while we enjoyed the beach! A great sized house with lots of storage for the seven of us, good quality and plenty of bedding towels, and kitchenalier, we had another brilliant week in our favourite place, lovely big sunny garden with summer house, seating and Bbq. the only improvements would be better wet suit cleaning and storage facilities without trekking sandy wet wetsuits through the bedrooms to the garden eg an outside tap/shower at the front of the property and a hanging rail in the shed! And possibly a bigger fridge for a family of 8! Lovely house, with all the finishing touches we’d definitely stay again thank you!




Early summer break

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four gentlemen meeting up to cycle the Tarka Trail and enjoy the Devon countryside. One of the best short break holidays we have had. A nice house well equipped providing all we needed for an enjoyable stay. A great location within easy reach of local resources, plus we enjoyed fantastic weather for our week. Will come again!!



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Peter, thanks for the good review and so glad to hear you had a good time. Next time you're planning a holiday please remember to look at www.sunsetbeach.co.uk . Cheers Harry