FB Twitter

Upper Instow Beach Cottage

Upper Instow Beach Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.6


Overlooking Instow Beach is the three bedroom North Yeo, a first floor apartment with lift and off road car parking.

Excellent location - interesting interior - splendid terrace

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Being in a listed building, the flat is more interesting than often is the case, The location is excellent, with splendid views from the sitting room and terrace that provided hours of gentle relaxation, The fixtures and fittings are fine and comfortable, although constrained to some extent by the fact the building is listed. Having three good pubs within a hundred yards is a bonus, as is falling out of the front door with the dog onto the beach and coast path. My only criticism would be despite a plethora of glasses in the flat, we were unable to find two reasonable wine glasses - and the flat holds five people. Also I think five people would have problems finding enough cutlery.



Every comfort and a fabulous view, couldn't ask for more.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is a listed building right on the sea front with the Tarka trail just down the road. The Pub 2 doors away is great with lovely food.
The accommodation is all upstairs. There is a roomy chair lift for the disabled and luggage. A large sitting room with a door to the roof patio with chairs and table , 3 bedrooms a dining room and kitchen with a large pantry. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves it was a brilliant place to stay with everything you could wish for provided. We were welcomed with biscuits and some lovely sparkling apple juice.
The beach isn't really a swimming beach but it's lovely to walk along. The tarka trail is great cycling . We had a lovely week and would definitely recommend it, even when the weather is overcast you still have great views. My only wish would be for blackout curtains in the single bedroom, but that's a minor issue. It's a great place for a holiday.




Weeks stay at quirky cottage in Instow

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the views from the lounge window of the bay and boats bobbing in the water. Great patio area off the lounge for sunset watching. Comfy double bed. Good shower. Brilliant location and useful off street parking.



First post lockdown holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 1st impression didn’t go well, the ground floor tenant and his family were eating lunch on our upstairs terrace when we arrived. We couldn’t park as he had guests. He continually parked at the top of the drive making it difficult for us throughout our stay. Disappointing start to our holiday. We called Jo and her husband Paul, they were very quick to resolve the issue and very angry that the tenant had caused the issue, as they stated “they were two different properties”. Having said all this, the property is in a great location, very clean and comfortable, the cherry on cake is the rooftop terrace and small private garden.







Quirky apartment with fantastic views

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Slightly old fashioned, but having dogs you don't want anything too fancy. It is a very spacious apartment with small garden at the rear and wonderful estuary/sea views out front, so even on a rainy day you can sit and watch the world go by.



Absolutely exceptional location, very comfortable and everything you need provided.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As above wonderful location and accommodation has everything you need. Roof terrace ideal for an early evening g and t and morning coffee. The Boathouse restaurant on the front with the balcony has gone to pot, very slow service, surly staff who couldn't care, prices that should match high end dining, however current experience would represent low end experience, don't bother, such a shame. The Quay and Instow Arms still offer good fayre at reasonable prices. The best in our opinion is the Wayfarer round the corner. This is an ideal place to relax and walk the dog. Social distancing observed and respected by all. We will be back.



A lovely holiday as always

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed at Instow for many years and in this particular cottage since it became available as a holiday let. The location is amazing and we love and appreciate the history and quaintness of such an old property. We were very impressed by the cleanliness and COVID-19 preparations, although a tad disappointed that this meant a lot of the original owner’s (Molly Russell) knick knacks Have been removed. The extra seating in the lounge is a definite improvement and we hope the property’s charm is not erased too much in the future. All in all a wonderful place and look forward to our next stay.



Instow beach

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in a great location with amazing views overt the estuary. The owners were very helpful and knowledgeable. Easy walking distance to the Beach House and Instow Arms.



Instow beach cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage is in a lovely location across the road from the beach and had so much potential but unfortunately was let down by the condition of the apartment. The place seriously needs some new furniture. It’s not just old but cupboards were falling apart, so much so we didn’t even want to use the wardrobe in the main bedroom. The bed linen was clean however the beds themselves were extremely wobbly and feel like they are going to collapse. The roof terrace was full of leaves and clearly hadn’t been swept In a long time and you really can’t say it has a garden, it has a tiny hidden patch of grass surrounded by a gate and bushes. There was an extra set plastic chairs outside that look like they had never been cleaned. Lots of the windows don’t open, the one that does open in the lounge slams shut when you close it and is dangerous for little fingers. Nothing dries in the apartment as damp and stuffy. There’s really bad damp on the wall in the hall. The pictures on the website show the spare room as being very different than it actually is. A chair lift comes up into that room, you can’t use the wardrobe as it smells and there’s a really old rubbish chest of drawers just plonked in the middle of the room. Really strange. Loved Instow as a place and the apartment has a lot of potential but just needs a complete overhaul.



Ellie replied 347 days ago
Hi Kim,Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were not satisfied with the apartment and we take on board what you have written. We agree that some furniture would benefit from updating and prior to lockdown we ordered a number of beautiful locally-made furniture pieces for the flat. Unfortunately the lock-down came before our order could be completed and delivered. We have decided to stick with the company and wait for our order to be completed as we like to support local tradesmen and craft. Some pieces are due to arrive this week and other pieces will need to be built ‘in-situ’ so unfortunately can’t be installed until the flat is empty. I am only sorry that they were not available for your visit. Lockdown has a lot to answer for! Thank you for letting us know that one of the windows needs attention, unfortunately we had not been made aware of this by yourselves until your review but will rectify this problem as soon as possible. The week you stayed the humidity was a staggering 95% according to the met office, which I agree is not comfortable and doesn’t make it easy to dry clothes, however the washing machine does have a drying facility. We were aware that there was a patch of damp in the passage due to a problem with the roof which was dealt with on the day you left. Roofers were due to start work on the rest of the roof last month however we felt it would be unfair for anyone to have a disturbed holiday so postponed the roof work until the end of September (and prayed for dry weather until then!). We are glad you enjoyed Instow, it really does have some stunning views and is the perfect place for a holiday with its white sand beaches, Tarka trail cycle track and a wonderful selection of places to dine.

Best sea views ever !

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Instow beach cottage. The location was perfect - such gorgeous views. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere in Instow and the wonderful sandy beach. The flat had everything we needed and our hosts couldn’t have been more helpful. We travelled as a family of 5 (kids are 11,12,13) and there was plenty of Living space for us. Would definitely return !



Good location, in desperate need of an update and new furnishings

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Dated inside, good view of the estuary. Had to go and buy kitchen items. Needs new furniture. Good location



Lovely beach residence

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, special place with lots of character. Wonderful location. Quiet and beautiful views. Great to have a parking space.



Great location ,character cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would come back in a flash.
Came with group of 4 ( 3 generations )and a dog. Lift excellent for 87 yr old. All we needed in the kitchen and dining room and the heating and hot water working well ( 5/7 inclement days in early July).Balcony to the side with table and views, lovely south facing for breakfast and sundowners when wind and rain died down. SW facing views from sitting room to beach.
Furniture a bit dated but comfy and very clean everywhere. New kitchen and bathroom - beds next please. Stairs steep for toddlers but stairgate at top.
Big bonus with very large hallway to fit bags and bikes in ,parking also.
Maintenance folks very prompt with minor issues quickly sorted.




Perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After spending many years holidaying in Devon, this is by far our favourite destination and cottage. We have been twice now and love it even more. Perfect for the dog and also for our elderly parents who often accompany us ... the unusual lift being particularly useful. The views are amazing, perfect on a stormy day, which is often for us as we go out of season. We love the quaintness of the cottage and history behind it. It is comfortably equipped and wouldn’t wish any changes. Looking forward to our next visit.



Most spectacular breakfast view

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in a previous cottage with my favourite cottages last year but this one was in the most wonderful position.on the beach straight across the road,the most lovely position for breakfast and evening drinks.
A quaint grade 11 listed cottage which doesn’t loose its era but is comfortable and clean .we would highly recommend it .
The top apartment is quite steep stairs for elderly but there is a very ingenious lift. Easy access to westward ho but Instow has a good beach and has been left alone to be natural




Great location & views

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely restful holiday, which is what we both really needed after after my husband spent two months in hospital earlier in the year.

The apartment was nice, with great views. Bathroom & kitchen refurbed which were great, new carpets throughout, great patio & furniture and small garden for the dogs.

We would stay again, but we have some recommendations to make it more enjoyable.
The lounge and bedrooms “really” need updating, new modern furniture in all of them.
Two couches would be great. New window coverings.
New beds with better quality mattresses. Option for a summer duvet.
The kitchen had a smoke alarm, which should be a heat alarm, so when we used the grill the alarm went off.
The windows all need attention, not easy to open.
A compendium with info on the bins, recycling etc.
Parking not great, if you have a big car. The central grass ornament area could be with being made smaller or taken out.




Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Karen, thanks for your review and glad you had a lovely time. I have passed on the comments to the owner however this is the first season that the apartment has been available as a holiday cottage and the owners are aware that it needs some modernising but need the bookings to pay for the upgrades and the price of the apartment reflects that, so I think your 3/5 for value is a bit harsh. Hopefully by the time you come again some more refurbishments will have been done. Cheers Harry