FB Twitter

Whitelady House (self-catering)

Whitelady House (self-catering)

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Whitelady House is a large and spacious holiday home located next to Lydford Gorge on Dartmoor. Within easy reach of both North and South Devon, this family and group friendly house has a wonderfully spacious interior, as well as a good sized garden and a hot tub.

Wonderful break on the edge of Dartmoor

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was beautiful. Very well equipped and plenty of space for everyone to spread out. Had some lovely meals in the huge dining room.
We really enjoyed using the hot tub and pool table.
Spacious grounds with a secret gate to Lydford Gorge.
Lots of lovely local walks and wonderful scenery.




Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house, lots of room, very helpful owners. We made good use of the hot tub even in the rain.
Thanks for the yummy flapjacks. All the flavours were good, but Chocolate orange was a favorite.





It was a perfect holiday for all the family plus dog

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is in a quiet area perfect for all the family, children loved playing in the garden and games room, lots of outside space for our dog Poppy. The house is spacious and very well set out so each room was used by all of us. We enjoyed our BBQs outside. We visited Lydford Gorge which was next door to the house, the children loved walking through the woods and then going for a welly boot paddle in the river.



Just What We Needed After Lockdown!

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely stay at the Whitelady! The house was spotless upon arrival, and Carol, the owner, was generous in allowing us to check in early. In addition to responding to my emails in a timely manner leading up to our stay, she also dropped by shortly after arrival to answer any additional questions and show us where a few things were. The gardens were gorgeous, and we spent most of our time sitting outside and enjoying a drink (or a competitive game of croquet!). The house didn’t lack for anything...the kitchen was well stocked, there was plenty of firewood, games/puzzles, and information on local attractions, pubs, events, etc. I’m addition to the amenities, the house is absolutely stunning. The rooms were well fitted with solid, comfortable furniture and decorated beautifully. We have stayed in a few large houses in this area, and this was by far our favourite stay so far!



Fantastic cottage and lovely service

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first trip since lockdown and we couldn’t have asked for a better experience. A lovely cottage which was larger than expected with very generous bedrooms. The addition of a downstairs en suite bedroom is great as well particularly I imagine if a guest has problems with the stairs. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and cooking with an AGA is always great. The grounds are lovely, the hot tub a nice little bonus and the location is great for walking etc although for some of the more touristy places you do still need to book in advance. There’s plenty of Tors to scale though as well as plenty of pubs now open to have a meal afterwards - all of which are taking sensible precautions. The owner is lovely and made sure all was in order for us which was great in these more difficult times. The flapjack gift pack was amazing but I suspect I’ll be working it off for weeks. Oh and we availed ourselves of the recommended private chef one night (Harrie from Boo to a Goose) and we were treated to an outstanding meal from two lovely hosts who sorted everything. I’d definitely recommend having the night off and getting Harrie to cook! All in all highly recommended and we wish the owners all the best as they start having people stay again.



Great location.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good size house that can accommodate the maximum amount of people with ease.
Large fully equipped kitchen allowed us to cater for ourselves every evening.
Fantastic location. Can highly recommend a walk to Tavistock via the pubs at Mary Tavy and Peter Tavy.
We stayed late February but would be happy to return any time of year.




Liberty Trails Horse and House Party

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a booking for a party of ladies to come and ride on the moor. The house worked well, was comfortable, clean, warm and of good quality.
The only two issues were; 1. The wifi had no internet connection for the majority of the weekend and 2. (a very minor one) The wood for the burners was too fresh to burn well, another year and it would be perfect!





Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Robert, thanks for leaving a nice review and by the time you come again maybe the wood will be more seasoned! Cheers Harry