FB Twitter

Heron View

Heron View

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 96 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


High Kirkland is a small holiday development consisting of three high quality self-catering units converted from the house and buildings of what was previously a small croft approximately 1 mile from the attractive coastal town of Kirkcudbright, tucked away in rural South West Scotland.

A welcome break!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we had another great stay in Herons View, a welcome break during this relentless virus, This is our third visit this year in between lockdowns, peace and quiet and the lovely warm hot tub to while away the days. Not the best of weather but we do not let this stop us, just nice to have a change of scenery In our home away from home!



Donald replied 120 days ago
Hi Denise, it was lovely to welcome you back to Heron View. We work so hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are pleased you have had another positive experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

A relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heron view was clean, warm and comfortable. Very quiet and peaceful, but within a short drive or 30 minutes walk into Kirkcudbright, where there are ample local shops, supermarkets, takeaways and Pubs/cafes. Plenty of lovely dog walks in the local area and the hot tub to soak in on your return! This was our second visit, and we will return again. Highly recommend!




Donald replied 141 days ago
Hi William, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Heron View. We feel very lucky to have such good establishments close by and High Kirkland is the perfect base for exploring the region. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Staycation

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our time staying in Heron View, Monday to Friday wasn't enough, would've loved to stay longer. We will definitely be back. The host, Donald is very nice and helpful. The cottage has everything you need and more. Very peaceful and relaxing



Donald replied 148 days ago
Hi Neil, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We try hard to give our guests a good experience and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Peaceful Family Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely family friendly cottage, nice layout, clean and tidy. Great location on the edge of town but so peaceful with beautiful views.
The hot tub was good fun.
I would recommend.




Donald replied 179 days ago
Hi Jenny, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We feel High Kirkland is a great base for exploring the region and the hot tub is great to enjoy after a busy day. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After being lucky enough to have a late booking week in Robins Nest, we moved next door to Herons View. Again we weren't disappointed. The summer weather wasn't great but we were cozy and warm In our newly insulated home from home. The weather didn't interrupt our holiday and we used the hot tub every day even in the rain as its nice and warm. We were lucky enough to get a couple of dark clear nights to watch the stars, seeing the International Space Station go by and the comet Neowise which wont be visible from earth for another 6800 Years, the sunrises and sunsets are amazing, who wouldn't want uninterrupted viewS surrounding these cottages!



Donald replied 211 days ago
Hello Denise, many thanks for choosing to stay with us at Heron View. It must have been the opportunity of a lifetime to see the space station and comet which hopefully added to your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.

Staycation

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time holiday in a cottage. Took the dog with me. Great location for dog walking. Hot tub a great unwind at the end of the day beer in handing watching the world go by.(cows and sheep).Deffo go again. Thanks Donald has a great unwind time



Donald replied 222 days ago
Hello Max, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Heron View. We try hard to make our guests experience as relaxing as possible and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kirkcudbright Cycling Holiday.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent location for a quiet break. We used it as a location for cycling and the roads in the surrounding area are wonderfully quiet (21' 37" for first car to pass on Sunday morning and a full 46 minutes for the second car). There's a great choice of roads.... flat by the coast, rolling green hills or hillier moorland and the scenery and views are some of the best Scotland has to offer.

The accommodation was very clean and tidy, bedrooms very comfortable, showers excellent and the hot tub was a great way to relax and recover after a bike ride. The kitchen had everything required for cooking our own meals but if you fancied eating out the Selkirk Arms was very good and Polar Bites did great fish n' chips.

The options for cafe stops were still slightly restricted due to Covid but we still managed to find somewhere. The coffee and bacon rolls at Galloway Lodge in Gatehouse of Fleet were really good and soup and sandwich at Threave Gardens also recommended (both were served at outside sitting due to Covid). Mulberries in Kircudbright did great coffee and cake at a socially distanced indoor sitting.

We found the owner of High Kirkland to be approachable and friendly. We had one minor issue with the hot water on the Saturday morning but a quick phone call to Donald and this was very quickly and easily resolved.

We will certainly use this accommodation and location again. Highly recommended.







Donald replied 222 days ago
Hello Gordon, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Heron View. At High Kirkland we feel very lucky to have such good establishments close by. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Literally perfect for our short break

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You could actually be anywhere, a fantastic and peaceful location only a few minutes from Kirkcudbright with lots to see and do in the surrounding area. Herons View was home from home, fully equipped, immaculate and beautifully presented. There was plenty of space for two adults and three children for a long weekend. The hot tub is a great addition and very relaxing with a lovely view.



Donald replied 222 days ago
Hello Eileen, thanks very much for your recent review. We feel High Kirkland is a great base for exploring the region and we would look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Peaceful surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage very much obsolete in the country but yet just 1 mile from the town of kirkcudbright loads of space and a beautiful hot tub our little one lived watching the farmer feed the sheep every morning



Donald replied 222 days ago
Hello Paul, thank you very much for your review and we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Excellent weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent group of cottages for a group of friends. Excellent spaces for socialising and having food. Superb location with a short walk to town. The hot tubs were excellent and very well maintained.



Donald replied 222 days ago
Hello Lauren, we really appreciate your comments and we are glad you had a great stay with us at Heron View for your get together with friends. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Yet another great stay at Herons View

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant cottage in lovely surroundings, peace and quiet of the country yet only 1 mile from town. Highly recommend this and both the other cottages at High Kirkland.



Donald replied 222 days ago
Hello Denise, thank you for taking the time to write your review. It makes our job worthwhile when our guests have a good experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Our second stay, even better than the 1st stay

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Donald had even put a real Christmas Tree in the lounge, beautifully decorated, the baubles and lights weren't just thrown on, they were placed carefully as if we had decorated it ourselves, with care. There were authentic Seasonal signs on different plaques and pieces of wood in every room making it a really lovely Christmas home from home. Extra logs were left for us as requested and beds were arranged according to our requirements. We had a marvellous Christmas in Heron View, my wife and son want to come again soon. We have found a gem of a place and caring owner who can't do enough.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Gary, It always a pleasure to see you at High Kirkland. You are a good friend of the place and your comments are very much appreciated. We do believe its the people that are the most important people and hopefully we will see you again soon. Happy New Year

Hot tub heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at Heron View. Upon arrival we found everything we could need with one of the best equipped kitchens I've seen in all my days of self catering holidays. And the little welcome pack of tablet was exactly like how Grandma used to make.
The lodge was cosy and very homely with some sweet decorative touches to help make the place feel less like a typical sterile holiday home. A beautiful log burning stove and large flat screen TV made us excited to come home after a day of adventuring and pop a movie on. We also encountered THE BEST hot tub. Not too hot, not too cold, not too loud and very comfortable. We loved watching the sunset, and sometimes sunrise, from it each day.
The only reason I didn't give full marks is because we found the bed to be quite uncomfy as we both left with a little back pain. Mattress really needs a replace and the duvet and pillows have seen better days. But I suppose that's just personal preference.
However I would still stay here again in a heartbeat!
Thanks again so much to everyone at High Kirkland for your hospitality and allowing the four of us to celebrate our special occasion in peace.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Vhairi, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your comments about Heron View and it makes it all worth while. I will certainly look at the mattress and pillows. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed for 3 nights. Beautiful surroundings, very quiet. 29 minute walk to town was a pleasure. Spacious accommodation. Cozy log burner very much needed after hot tub!! Maybe add some hooks beside hot tub for towels/bathrobes? All in all very nice clean, comfortable value for money.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for leaving a lovely review. We do pride ourselves on our standards. Thanks for the comment regarding the hooks. There is two already there but I will look at putting more up. Thanks again.

Lovely week near Kirkcudbright

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage, hot tub fantastic and log burner kept us warm! Location perfect, would thoroughly recommend



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review on Heron View. We are delighted you had a great break and we will see you soon

Had w fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My stay at high Kirkland was really good, the location was prefect with just being under a mile outside kickbright. Weather held up but even although it was a little cold the hot tub was a great extra, cottage it’s self was comfortable my 20 month old daughter loved waking up and seeing the cows and sheep



30th Birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and spacious. Outlook was beautiful. Hot tub was a bonus. Everything was provided. There was a lovely welcome pack. Also ample parking. It was an easy walk into town, lots to do there too. If you don't want to cook there are plenty eateries nearby. Everything met our needs.



Lovely cottage, superb location!

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, clean, well kept cottage. It was spacious and comfortable and in a well maintained complex of 3 cottages. The owner was friendly and helpful and obviously cared a great deal about the overall holiday experience to be had. A lovely quiet location but only a mile out of kirkcudbright and plenty of choice of small local shops and two supermarkets. It was a nice walk into town, but beware of the hill on the way back! However, you can always soak in the hot tub to revive tired feet! Very dog friendly and lots of doggy walks in easy reach. This area of Dumfries and Galloway is not too far off the beaten track, but has stunning coastlines and hills and plenty of tourist attractions for adults and kids. Well worth turning left at Gretna instead of carrying on up to the highlands and the crowds of tourists and busy roads!



Lovely holiday house

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Heron View. The house was very clean and comfortable and set in a lovely location. The hot tub was an added bonus! Would definitely recommend.



lovely scottish cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
lovely cottage and the town of kirkcudbright was really nice , the cottage was spacious and the hot tub was great , the views were lovely and it was only spoilt by the farmer arriving at 7am to feed the cattle , other than that very peaceful :)



Perfect cottage for family of 5

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Herons view had everything we needed for a lovely week break, the hot tub was fantastic, great location easy access for days out but so very peaceful and quiet loved hearing the wildlife.
Herons view is well proportioned we were a family of 4 adults and I child and a dog, lots of room for us all. The owners had left fresh milk for our arrival ( very thoughtful).
The towels very luxurious, well equipped kitchen, clean rooms. Would certainly come back.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very lucky as we are situated in a quiet part of Kirkcudbrightshire but we are only a 20 minute walk from the busy fishing town of Kirkcudbright. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Fantastic cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Heron Cottage. Very well appointed and spacious. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. The location is excellent with beautiful countryside views all around. The hot tub is a great feature (perfect for easing your aches and pains after a days walking!). We will definitely return in the future!



Lovely quality accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a lovely cottage in a lovely location with a Tesco close by for provisions.
Milk, tea, coffee and sugar available on arrival with some lovely fudge. Fully equipped kitchen for meals etc.
Furniture a bit too soft and low for those with bad backs but the hot tub was great to sort out the aches and pains.
Plenty of local information available and plenty of places to visit.
Could have done with bigger recycling bins to encourage recycling. The ones available were full.
My elderly father struggled with the steep stairs and lack of full bannister all the way to the top of the stairs. In hindsight should have used The Byer cottage instead.




Yet another great stay at Herons View

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As alway we enjoyed our stay at Herons View, home from home for us as are the other 2 cottages, Robins Nest and The Byre. The added luxury of the hot tub is a bonus. Peace and quiet yet only a mile from the lovely town of Kirkcudbright and less than a 30 minute drive to Castle Douglas. This was our second visit this year to Herons View andlooking forward to our next visit.



Heron's view

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
For us the outdoor Jacuzzi was not a priority and this made this property less value for money than robin's nest and the Byre.
The accommodation was fine.




What a gem of a find!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place, everything you need, even a cafetière, log burner, spa pool, a kitchen that works, medium firm mattresses, comfortable pillows, crisp clean bedding, large fluffy towels, wi-fi, great views and an owner that cares. Will definitely ask permission to return :-)



Brilliant place for a family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked all 3 cottages for a family get together. Was a lovely peaceful location and safe for children. Cottages were clean and welcoming. Owners were very helpful from start to finish. Would definitely stay here again.



Fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Robins Nest and now The Byre, Herons View did not disappoint. Spacious, well equipped, bright and airy and plenty of room and comfortable and the added bonus of the hot tub. Stunning views. This was our fourth stay at Herons View and another booked during the summer. It’s home from home!



Lovely well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as a family of 5 the first week in April. There was plenty of space for us all, the cottage was equipped with everything you could ask for- the hot tub was a godsend with the weather we had to warm us up after a busy day outside. The surroundings were peaceful and the cows in the adjoining field were friendly and a hit with our girls. Everyone we encountered in the area was welcoming and we had a relaxed, short break taking in Mabie farm (couldn’t fault it) the cocoa bean factory (great value and lovely facilities- kids didn’t want to leave) and Dhoon Beach (only a short 5-10 min drive- a little gem that we had to ourselves). There is so much we didn’t manage to do in the area we would definitely return and would definitely choose Heron view to accommodate us.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all three cottages - a fantastic location for my sisters hen do. So much space and beautiful location. Donald was SO helpful - with suggestions for pubs, activities, taxis and answered all our questions about logistics.
We would definitely go back for a group holiday and would highly recommend to others.




Well equipped and modern but with character

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From booking the cottage (cottage is an understatement) nothing was too much double, Donald’s communication was brilliant. This property has loads of space and would easily accommodate a larger party than just us two! It sleeps 5 easily and still loads of space. The place was spotless and very cosy - it rained the whole time we were there and we just chilled in the house and didn’t need anything (other than remember to take a lighter or matches to light the fire!).
Had the weather been good this place is perfect for exploring, and walking distance to a cove and the little town centre. There are other coves to explore a short drive away. The shower was AMAZING but watch out for the cheeky rook knocking on the ensuite window, that was very funny. Easy to find, large supermarket in nearby town and smaller one in the village, lovely peaceful location but not isolated. Lovely.




Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are just home from another fabulous long weekend at Heron View. We have 3 young children so the cottage is perfect for us, the accommodation and facilities are great. We have been using cottages all over the UK for many years and I can say Heron View is one of our favourites, the hot tub is just the icing on the cake!

We were lucky again to have beautiful weather and found Carrick Bay, there are so many lovely places within a short distance! The kids had a ball and have named all the pheasants in the field, they are already missing the views at night from the sky light! (They were lucky to see a shooting star!)

Donald the owner is super helpful, he popped his head in to say hello but we had no issues, can't wait to get booked again for next year!




Relaxing week away.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I spent a week here, it was very comfortable and cosy. The location is perfect, very quiet with lovely views of the countryside.
Very handy for the town as only 2 mins drive down the road.
Very well equipped and the hot tub was a great addition.
We had a lovely time just getting away from it all.
Highly recommended x




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the recommendation. Delighted to hear the cottage was just as it should be!

A lovely stay at Heron View

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Heron View this year. The house was perfect for our needs as a family of four, and we were able to have more family members round for a take away, using the large dining area and table. The location of Heron View is just stunning, with amazing views out of all the windows. It is a traditional cottage but with large windows throughout which make the most of the views and make it feel bright inside.
The kitchen is modern and fully equipped with what we needed for our stay. Bathrooms are also modern, clean and bright.
We also loved the hot tub! The weather wasn't so good when we stayed but we were still able to sit out and enjoy it - a great addition to the cottage! Were out there first thing in the morning and last thing at night!
Donald was very helpful before and during our stay. He is very approachable and was happy to help with all our questions.
Kirkcudbright is a short drive or a lovely walk away, with a fab play park for the children on the way. We enjoyed having ice creams by the harbour, fish and chips in the evening, plus coffee and cakes in the plethora of cafes. There really was no need to travel far from the house at all!
Thank you Donald for a fabulous stay - we will be back!




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We aim to please. Very happy to hear Heron View suited the whole (and extended) family! A home from home for you!

Great Family Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, myself, three teenage boys and dog all had a great week at Herons View. The accommodation was spotless, furnishings very new and good condition. The house is in a very quiet spot. We saw red deer, red squirrels, red kites, sparrow hawk, buzzard and bats from the house. You can walk into Kirkcudbright in 15 mins and you will find it has everything you need and great for wandering around. Further afield, beautiful beaches, rivers, activity centres & sightseeing is all within 30 mins drive. Most importantly, no complaints from teenagers about WiFi.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
3 happy teenagers = happy parents! The rural setting but still with the convenience of town and modern technology. Glad it was fun for all!

Wonderful holiday in a gem of a find!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most lovely stay at the cottage. It is in a really peaceful scenic location but so near to Kirkcudbright. Lovely walks just on the doorstep which was great for our 10month old cockapoo! The town itself is pretty with lots to visit and accessible beaches that are so near and unspoilt.
We will definitely come back and visit. Thank you again for a lovely stay.
Karen Chris and Barnaby, the dog!




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are so lucky to have so many beautiful beaches close by. Good to hear all 3 of you enjoyed exploring around High Kirkland. Plenty more left for you to see and do next time!

Lovely week

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in beautiful countryside and a short walk(less than a mile) to Kirkcudbright. Self catering facilities were excellent. Beds were comfortable! It's clearly a frequently updated and cared for property and very comfortable. Other property was occupied but it's designed nicely so you have plenty of privacy. It was a great place to base yourself to travel around Dumfries and Galloway and there is lots to do, our age range was 9-84 and everyone had a lovely holiday. Customer service from the owner was great before a d after our trip. We had no need to contact during as everything was straightforward. I would definitely book again.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
A comfortable beds make such a difference! Delighted to hear you will be back! Thank you for your kind words.

Another great stay in Herons View

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always we had a lovely week in Herons View, the weather was great and it was peaceful and quiet. As we normally visit in the spring, it was nice to see the trees and hedgerow shrubs in full leaf andthis time the young bulls were in the adjacent field and the young calf’s and lambs we saw coming into to the field for the first time in March, are now growing well. Herons View Has a hot tub which we used a couple of times daily. We have visited Robyn’s Nest for a number of years with our family which is also a comfortable cottage for 8 in fact the only one we haven’t tried is The Byre but been inside and is just as comfortable as the others.
Would rep comedy all these cottagesespecially for walkers hikers cyclists or even just to relax and do nothing.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We'll just need to put an extension on The Byre so you can try it out! Thank you Roger, we are delighted you keep coming back to us!

A home from home with added luxury

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great time at heron view. Place is beautifully kept and the customer
Service was second to none.
We enjoyed a lovely weekend of mountain biking which you can access many of the 7stanes easily from here topping off with evenings relaxing in the hot tub and in front of the fire.
Accommodation has all you need. Could not fault it. Sheer bliss and we will be back.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Sounds like you got the cycling/relaxing balance just right. I'm glad Heron View could help you with this!

A lovely tranquil getaway, super 5 star accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Please don't hesitate to book a stay at this cottage, it is everything and more you would look for, well equipped in a beautiful setting, you will find the accommodation welcoming and charming. Set within a farm, the views are stunning and there is nothing to disturb the peace except for the sound of some sheep and cattle, you will find yourself at home within minutes of arriving. The cottage is a great place to stay if you are touring around or sampling looking to relax. The owner Donald is a pleasure to communicate with, he keeps in touch to ensure you have the best stay possible and put us in touch with a local caterer who supplied us with the most amazing supper and formal dinner. I would go back myself and would strongly recommend these cottages to friends and family . We hired all three cottages for the weekend and all were of the same excellent standard and extremely well equipped, every single one of our party loved staying at High Kirkland. Thank you Donald you and your team provide a five star holiday experience at an excellent price, I hope to visit again some day.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. It is a beautiful part of the country with so much on offer. Delighted to hear the meal was a success. We hope to see you again in the future!

A lovely spring stay at High Kirkland cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heron View provided an excellent base for exploring Dumfries and Galloway. The location is just outside Kirkcudbright but it is only a short walk into the town. The cottage is in a remote setting and very quiet. We cycled in the area every day and there are numerous quiet lanes to explore in lovely countryside. On one occasion we drove to Newton Stewart for a day ride down to Port William. The A75 makes it easy to get along the coast. On the odd occasion we contacted the owner, he responded immediately and sorted out any minor problems. We are definitely planning to go again in 2019.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad to hear you has a successful week of cycling using Heron View as a base. We are planning to explore more of the west ourselves this summer so will certainly visit Port William. Thank you

Peaceful holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 05 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a peaceful tranquil location, just a mile out of town but situated in the countryside. Normally stay in the adjacent property, Robyn’s Nest with the family (8 of us) equally as nice. Red kites flying around us, pheasants and other game birds as well as the wagtails and other small birds that come to visit, new born lambs in the field across, almost daily we had new born calves and their mothers brought by the farmer in the field at the side of us, deer in the woods area across from the cottage, beautiful views all around us. All you would need in the cottage for a comfortable stay, highly recommended to any of these 3 lovely cottages, the added bonus in Herons View is the hot tub which we made use of every day. We have been staying at High Kirkland cottages for 4 years or so now and never disappoints. Already booked another break In a few weeks time and will continue to book at High Kirkland.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
As always a pleasure to have you! Hopefully you will enjoy a different season of wildlife, farm life and scenery during your July visit!

Hen weekend at high Kirkland cottages.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottages, tastefully decorated and clean, surrounded by beautiful countryside and a wonderful hot tub. Had a fantastic stay and will be back again..



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back to High Kirkland.

Just lovely

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely place to stay. The perfect balance between privacy, views and locality to the local town. The property was well equipped, clean, nicely furnished, modern and spacious with a great hot tub to boot.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Yes, the proximity to Kirkcudbright town is ideal. The best of town and country! Thank you

Brilliant, relaxing stay - will definitely be back!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is the perfect place to relax for a few days. It’s such a great size, we were a family of 5 adults and had no issues. The cottage was very clean and well presented and is just outside the main town enough that you have total peace and quiet. The setting was absolutely incredible, as was the hot tub to chill and watch the world go by! Would honestly recommend this so much :)



Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in many holiday cottages and this is right up there.it has been done to perfection.the location although only a few minutes from town it feels like you’re in the middle of the countryside.the hot tub is a bonus.we will be booking again in the future.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Yes, the convenience of the town but in the countryside. Lovely walks in every direction. We look forward to seeing you again at High Kirkland.

Perfect for a 90th birthday, family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great value accommodation with great amenities, comfortable beds, well appointed kitchens and utilities.
Nice to be in a complex of 3 cottages as a family. Without having to live on top of each other in one cottage we were all able to gather together in Heron View for a sit down meal for 17.
Donald was easy to communicate with and made a special effort to help us with the party so close to Xmas.
We would recommend and will return.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear Heron View could accommodate all 17 of you for a meal, it really is a great space. 90th Birthday celebrations are very special, thank you for bringing your family to us!

Great family friendly cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely long weekend in Heron View, beautiful spacious comfortable cottage. Felt like we were in the middle of nowhere yet Tesco and the picturesque town of Kirkubright were literally 2 mins down the hill in the car! The hot tub was fabulous, especially at night looking at the stars then going in to the log burner. Donald and Craig couldn't be more helpful! Will definitely be returning.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Yes, we find the location of the cottages ideal. The country experience but with the convenience of the town. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third holiday at High Kirkland , an excellent base for exploring the 7 Stanes mountain bike trails. Very comfortable , just what you want from a cottage holiday, with the added benefit of a hot tub too , perfect after a 2 hour bike ride through the beautiful forests nearby.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Caroline, we are finding High Kirkland is a good central base for mountain bikers. We hope to see you back in the future. Thank you

Another good holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second break here this year, with friends this time. We all like the light and spacious accommodation, the up to date bathrooms and kitchen, the views and the location just outside Kirkcudbright. When the weather is good the patio is in the sun most of the day and into the evening. The hot tub is a big plus, too. The new sofas are a great improvement. One or two minor problems were quickly fixed by the owners who are very friendly and helpful. The area in general is great for walking, cycling and sightseeing. A very good place for a relaxing holiday and we will be back.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you will be returning to stay with us. I am glad I could help sort out your little issue there and then. Thank you

Great location for dog walking. Lovely cafes and hotels for food. Good base for wider touring.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The above review doesn't really tell the full story. We were a party of four mature adults and one dog - chosen entirely because we had never been to the area before. The cottage was well situated to get easy access to Kirkcudbright for eating places but at the same time great for country walks for the dog. Unfortunately, we all found the sofas extremely low and soft ( even with the booster cushion I brought ). The beds were also on the low side for old bones to manage and the hassle of having to go downstairs to the toilet in the middle of the night with no upstairs toilet to serve the second bedroom was a bit of a nuisance. I appreciate that we can't expect a home from home but I really think the sofas have come to the end of their lives. Weather was a bit wet at times so the log burner was a great asset on a miserable evening. Unfortunately, we were never given the promised basket of logs - so ended up buying nets of logs at the garage since any fallen wood was soaking. We also ended up leaving newspapers in the log basket to help to start the fire and a box of matches on the mantelpiece. I know this sounds quite picky and some people would have had no problems with these issues, but although the cottage sported a lovely new kitchen and dining area, lovely downstairs bathroom, the lounge area was definitely let down by the sofas and the bedrooms, though roomy, were let down with the low beds. We did very much appreciate the fact that Donald came in one evening on his way home and introduced himself. That was a lovely touch. This is a good cottage for families or for people who wouldn't have any issues with the height of sofas or beds or the need for another upstairs toilet.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we very much value any feedback we are given. We were aware of the need to replace the couches and new ones were ordered a few months ago. They actually arrived yesterday and are in place already. We are sorry to hear you found the beds too low, we have never received any negative comments about them before but we will certainly look into this. As for the toilet down stairs, we don't advertise we have two bathrooms upstairs and we have always been complimented on the quality of the bathrooms. Finally, apologies for the lack of logs, we simply forgot to fill up the basket (it's not really been used over the summer). It is a pity you didn't ask Donald when he popped in to visit as the log shed is on site and he can usually sort out any issues there and then.

Excellent cottage in a beautiful area. With a hot tub for when the weather is inclement!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday in this lovely cottage, located in a beautiful area. There are lots of varied things to do in the area, regardless of weather conditions. The local people were very friendly, as was the owner Donald, whom we met a couple of times.
An improvement would be to have a King size bed in the master bedroom. Having two excellent bathrooms was very useful for us.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive comments. I agree, despite varied weather there is always something to do nearby. You make a really valid suggestion about the King size bed, we are off to measure up!

A lovely cottage in an ideal location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this cottage for many years and have watched it develop. The addition of a hot tub was an excellent idea and we made good use of it during our visit. We love this location with easy access to lovely cycling and walking.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted you keep coming back and look forward to your next visit!

Wedding celebrations

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal place for family celebrations and the hot tub is an added bonus . Well equipped and good social area for all to enjoy



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the kind comments. The hot tub is proving very popular.

Great weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent weekend away in High Kirkland's three properties: The Byre, Robin's Nest and Heron's View.

The location of the cottages is perfect; remote & beautiful and all three cottages are comfortable, with modern kitchens and it was the ideal location for our group get together.

Nearby there are plenty of outdoor activities too, so you'll never be short of things to do.

Highly recommended.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. Delighted to hear the cottages were a triple success!

Heron Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very satisfied with our comfortable accommodation. Well appointed with everything you could want in a cottage. Lots of things to see and do in the surrounding area.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We certainly are lucky with our location, there is so much do close by. Thank you for your comments

Great cottage, lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for us just outside the pretty town of Kirkcudbright. Heron View is set in beautiful countryside and there are lovely walks straight from the front door. Great views from the front and a hot tub to enjoy them. We loved the large light open plan living area where there are plenty of electric sockets for computers etc. Excellent fast Wifi. The cottage was very clean and is well equipped. Very good showers with lots of hot water (though it was a bit too hot from the taps). Good heating kept us snug on the two cold wet days we had. Comfortable beds (very important for us!) though I found the sofa a bit squashy for my back problem. Lots of things to do and see within easy reach. Donald, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay here, and would definitely recommend this very good cottage.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Agreed, we are very lucky to have such beautiful scenery around us. Glad to hear the Wifi was super speedy! You make a good point about the sofas, we will look into this. Thank you, hope to see you back!

Fabulous holiday cottage and location

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great week at Heron View blessed by excellent sunny warm weather throughout. The cottage's location, just outside Kirkcudbright, offers peace and tranquility but easy access to the town's friendly and welcoming shops, cafes and restaurants. The area is quiet and very scenic. We spent most of our time walking and cycling and we were spoilt for choice of routes and options with the prospect of a bathe in the hot tub at the end of the day! The cottage had secure cycle storage which was important for us.
We ate at the Selkirk Arms on two evenings and had lovely food served by friendly staff. We will definitely won't leave it too long before a return visit.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. What a great month May has been!

A wonderful getaway retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With an active few days planned in the Galloway area, Heron Cottage was just what we needed to come home to.

The hot tub was a favourite for both grown ups and children, to soothe our aches and pains, and it was lovely to have a real woodburner when the weather was a little chilly.

The rooms were well-proportioned and 2 bathrooms helped avoid queues.

The cottage is on the outskirts of Kirkcudbright, so I'd recommend it most suitable for car owners - being outside of the town, the peace and quiet was tangible, and it was the perfect place to getaway from city life. Would definitely return.




A great light and spacious venue for a group holiday.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Plenty of room for a few families and easy to move from building to building with a safe environment for children.
A wonderful location with many activities on the doorstep and an easy walk i to Kirkcudbright.
We should have stayed longer and definitely have you on our wish list now.
Hot tub a great hit with all.




Wet weather...Hot tub!!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had another fab visit to Heron View, an ideal space for catching up with family and friends, log burner a cosy addition to make us even more relaxed despite the rugby result! We also enjoyed our dip in the hot tub (in the mist!) and all the home comforts were most welcome, including dishwasher and high quality fixtures and fittings. Brilliant location for accessing Kirkcudbright too. The Dunlop Family could not be more helpful and welcoming, Thank you.



Fantastic weekend at Highkirkland Cottages!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic weekend staying in Heron View. I stayed for a short break with friends. The cottage itself is 5 star accommodation, very clean, spacious, modern and cosy with the log burner. The cottages are in a great location with beautiful views and not to far away from the town as we took a leisurely walk into Kirkcudbright on the Saturday morning for a look round the shops. The hot tub is AMAZING!! (Even in the wind and rain) I can imagine in the summer time it's even better! We used our weekend for rest and relaxation and by the Monday morning we were so chilled out, we didn't want to leave. We arranged for Michelle Robertson, a popular local chef to come and cook for us at the cottage, this was a great idea as the food was delicious. We also arranged for Jenny Wilson, a well known masseuse in the area to come to the cottage and give us a treatment. This made our weekend a wee bit more extra special. The cottages are great value for money, everything you need is there, a home from home and we will definitely be back for another stay soon.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Stacey, Thank you very much for all your great comments. You certainly have had a jam packed weekend with all your activities. Jenny and Michelle are great options for coming to High Kirkland and with the Hot Tub helping to round off your stay it looks like it all went swimmingly! Hope to see you all again.

Heron view high kirkland

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent homely cottage in a nice quiet location. Hot tub was an added bonus and was enjoyed by ourselves and the kids. Very helpful owners who where on hand to help with any queries and questions.

Would not hesitate to stay again.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks very much for your feedback. The Hot Tub will hopefully be a good addition to Heron View. Bathing Alfresco, Kirkcudbright Style. See you again

October break

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at the cottages & would definitely recommend them. We booked the 3 of them this year & would definitely do it again. Donald(owner)could not be more welcoming & helpful. The cottages are like home from home everything you could possibly need & more. The views & walks are stunning. Definitely will back.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. All we can ask is that we can provide you with that home from home feeling but with that little bit of peaceful luxury that High Kirkland can provide! Hot Tub arriving in January to help those bones after those long walks!!

Home from home.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in lots of Dog friendly cottages. We felt that Heron View is up there with the best of them.
Extremely beautiful part of the Country, a real hidden Gem of a place.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
You are very kind to suggest that we are providing you with the break you required! We try hard and it makes it so worth while to receive your lovely comments. We hope to see you soon!

Cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely rural location-good for taking the dog for walks.Kirkudbright a short drive away or a decent walk if the weather is decent.The nearby beaches at Dhoon Bay & Brighouse Bay are lovely.The cottage is well equipped with everything you need and the town has a small Tesco & Coop for all your grocery needs.The only reason we rated comfort good was due to finding double mattress uncomfortable-perhaps a mattress topper would make it better but then everyone has their own preferences.Would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a break away from it all.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We get a lot of reviews stating that there are so many great walks around our area. Good simple entertainment for everyone trying to relax and recuperate from everyday life! Thanks for your comment about the bed. As you it is difficult to satisfy everybody's needs but a mattress topper is a great suggestion for having if required. We hope to see you again!

August Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having previously stayed in the larger of the cottages for a week, this time around went for the 'medium' one for 2 weeks, and used it as a base for walking and mountain biking. It's the perfect location for these activities, and the local towns of Kirkudbright and Castle Douglas are excellent.
The house itself has everything you need for a get away, and the cows make it lovely :)




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review! The wildlife are highly trained to entertain the guests! The 7 Stanes are a great addition to the area for the growing Mountain Biking population!! Plenty of routes still to cover when you return!

Good cottage and location

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our short stay, it was a good base from which to explore the region. Well equipped and clean. The pint of milk in the fridge, packet of biscuits and dishwasher tablets supplied were much appreciated. The log burner was great on cool September evenings. Lots of wildlife on view from the windows and no sounds except cattle and sheep munching grass and birds singing.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We thank you for your kind comments. We have learned that it's the little things that make a holiday more memorable! The area has so much to offer and Dumfries and Galloway is definitely a more popular destination for the modern day traveller!

Perfect for large family get together.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property for family get together. We had Heron View and Robins Nest properties which both were of excellent standard. All amenities catered for with little starter pack to help settle in. Spacious throughout inside and outside areas. Clean and tidy and the owner was very helpful with local things that were on while we stayed. Cannot fault the property and we would definately use again in the future and recommend.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your comments. We try very hard to make sure you have everything that you would at home. We now have a very good friend of High Kirkland that will provide an outside catering menu for that family weekend away. We hope to see you soon

Fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous break at Herons View. This is a lovely cottage in a rural location but very close to Kirkcudbright. We had everything we needed, it was like a home from home. We weren't able to come from Friday to Friday due to work commitments and the owner was really helpful and gave us money off for the night we missed. The area is perfect with loads to do to entertain adults and children, all very near by. I would recommend seeing the red kite feeding station at Bellymack Farm it was quite an experience!



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your comments. We try to be as flexible as we can at High Kirkland. Although we need to have a system in place we realise that in our busy lives which we all lead we need to have that flexibility! We hope to see you soon

An idyllic base from which to explore Dumfries and Galloway.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were blessed with beautiful weather during our stay. We would certainly consider coming here again. My only slight regret was that there were no eggcups provided for our morning boilie!



Highly recommend

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd visit,stayed in Robins nest last year...Herons view no longer looks at the Herons,but the view is now even better..great place, quiet yet close to the town which has everything including great Fish & chips, comfy beds & sofas, constant hot water,lovely warm cottage although we were blessed with stunning weather..plenty of space inside,Garden is small with shale but ideal for clearing up after your dog!Just be warned if your dog is a jumper the fences/walls are not very high.. The woods at the end of the lane are fabulous for walks.
I love this place.




Fab cottage in peaceful setting close to Kirkcudbright

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous long weekend at Heron View cottage. The cottage is spacious, furnished to a high standard and has all mod cons, including a log burning stove. It has a small, chipped garden with a table/seating which gets the sun for most of the day - great for sitting out watching the sun go down. Very peaceful, walking distance to Kirkcudbright town which has all amenities including nice coffee shops, great places to eat for more formal dining and a selection of good bars as well as a small supermarket for any essentials you may need. We liked the Selkirk Arms hotel - the Sports bar provides a warm welcome to dogs and it has an excellent beer garden as well as a good restaurant. There are lots of nice walks in the area and the locals are really friendly. Highly recommend!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Jen, Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We have tried hard to produce that little bit of quality but still keep the homely feel to the cottage. Kirkcudbrightshire is becoming a more popular place to visit and we are very lucky to live here. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon

lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from Easter weekend at Heron View, lovely cottage, clean and well equiped with comfy beds!!! great location with walks on the doorstep.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you were well rested!! Our location is rural but so close to everything good about the area. Hope to see you again soon.

A perfect holiday!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I recently stayed at Heron View along with our 4yr old and 18mth yr old. We had a lovely relaxing holiday with the children in this beautiful spot just on the outskirts of Kirkcudbright. The house itself is brilliant. It has a brand new fully fitted kitchen and open plan living area which was perfect for us but I could easily imagine entertaining more people in the space. We loved the wood burning stove in the evenings and we had all the home comforts necessary for a young family with a TV, Freeview and DVD player. The bathrooms are lovely and modern and everything was spotlessly clean. I only wish my own house was like that!!

The local area around Kirkcudbright is beautiful and perfectly suited to young families. We went to one of the local beaches one afternoon and had a picnic and built sandcastles (in February)! We also spent an afternoon in Kirkcudbright, looking around the craft and art shops, and having coffee in one of the many cafes. We had dinner in the Selkirk Arms which offered delicious local food. Nearby we spent another day at the Cocoa Bean chocolate factory, where the children had a ball in the soft play, outdoor adventure playground and my daughter even made her own chocolate in the workshop.

We really had a fantastic holiday and hope to return again next year (perhaps with friends). We live near London so the fresh air and open space alone was treat (and made the kids sleep in for once!)

Thank you to Donald and Robin – we couldn’t fault Heron View at all.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Lindsay, Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We have tried so hard to make Heron View homely but with a touch of quality. There is so much to do around the area to fill your break up and hopefully some more to do when you return!! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Amazing.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this short break at High kirkland holiday cottages .{Heron View}for my 24th Wedding Anniversary.What an amazing find.Situated in the heart of the countryside on a working sheep farm,yet only a five minute drive or 10-15 minute walk away,"depending how fast a walker you are." from Kirkcudbright with all the shops needed for supplies.The location is ideal for couples or families wanting a relaxing,quiet holiday,or short break away from all the hustle and bustle but not isolated.Delightful owners where nothing was too much trouble.Had trouble getting the cosy log burner to light until Donald give assistance.If you have young children they will enjoy the experience of watching the sheep being rounded up and taken into another field by the owners border collie.I know me and my Husband did.What else was amazing was the spectacular birds flying formation early evening.Just before sunset.Due to very little light pollution and can also experience the dark night skies.So much space within the cottage to relax and the nice little touches like the welcome pack including biscuits and a pint of milk left in the fridge.Quality feel to everything.Great walking from the doorstep.There was nothing me and Hubbie didn't like about our stay.We both thoroughly recommend this holiday cottage and were really sad to leave yesterday.May i just say a big thank you to Robin and Son Donald for making us both feel very welcome.Our first stay,but certainly won't be our last.Real home from home.






Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is really satisfying to hear that you felt relaxed and Heron View met your expectations. Our goal is to make sure our guests enjoy a little bit of quality but it is important you Felt at home. We hope to see you soon. Thanks again.

Great well e

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed another lovely stay at High Kirkland. Spotlessly clean and extremely cosy and comfortable. Wood burning stove very efficient. Has a great location as very much in the country but only a 10 minute walk down to Kirkcudbright.
Owners very friendly and attentive. Will definitely return.




A superb short break!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful location, a beautifully appointed cottage with every convenience you could need. The weather was reasonably kind so walks from the cottage were enjoyed by all as well as cosy nights in front of the log burner...we will be back!



Heron view

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved staying here for a week would highly recommend it. Our friends stayed in robins nest & like us they totally loved it. We can't wait to go back.



September short break

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful setting but only a short drive into town.
The cottage has been recently refurbished to a high standard with a
Spacious kitchen dinner leading into a good sized living room .
Wi fi connection was available with good reception.
The night sky is spectacular as there is very little light pollution .
Ideal break for us and our dog and will be returning next year.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your comments. We are looking forward to meeting you again next year.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a lovely location. Excellent facilities in the cottage. Garden is very small and is very coarse gravel throughout but with picnic table.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We can only improve with our customer comments. We have plans to make a patio area in the quieter months.

Heron view

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a week this cottage is of a high standard no complaints at all.
All appliances excellent ,showers and bathroom great.
Although next to two other cottages
It was still very private and in a peaceful setting.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Brilliant!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location,but knew this anyway as my wife and I started married life there 50 years ago!The cottage is amazing,can't believe the difference!Very comfortable and facilities beyond our expectations!Had quite a few visitors while there and they were all very impressed.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely comments. My father really enjoyed reminiscing events all those years ago and we are glad you enjoyed your celebrations!!

excellent location

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heron View has just been refurbished and looks great inside. We particularly liked the walk in shower which was very powerful. Kirkcudbright is just down the road and there is plenty to see and do just on the doorstep. Definitely recommended.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Caroline for leaving this kind review. The shower seems to be a big hit! It is certainly will be a welcome after a day out in the lovely local countryside! Hope to see you soon, Thank you!

Heron Cottage review

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very comfortable,warm and cosy in Heron cottage despite the fact that it rained hailed and snowed during the course of the week!
The cottage was well equipped and the beds were very comfortable
The bike storage was very handy and secure and we were in a central location for the mountain bike routes.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We try and cater for all types and even if the weather hasn't been at it's best there is a cosy log burner to meet you when you come in!! Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Perfect stay at Heron View

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful 4 days at Heron View - everything was perfect. The location was ideal - beautiful countryside views with lovely Sheep and Cows. A short drive to Kirkudbright - we ate out each night in the town and every meal was lovely. The cottage had everything we required. The literature provided was in a well laid out booklet. We had lovely biscuits, milk, tea, coffee and sugar to welcome us too. Towels and hair drier was provided plus black bin bags and dishwasher tablets if required. The beds were so comfortable. The shower was perfect - though the ensuite only allowed one shower per session. There was of course another lovely bathroom downstairs so it did not cause us a problem. The wifi worked perfectly. I could live there!! We will definitely recommend to friends and hopefully we will return again. Thank you very much.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your comments. It has been a long hard winter but it has been all worth it getting Heron View to where it is. One of the comments in the past was the fact there was only one bathroom. Now we have two and they are what every self caterer should expect. It is all about the little things that make a holiday. Thanks again and hopefully see you soon

1st Class Holiday Cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Heron View over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend. The cottage is immaculate throughout and of a very high standard. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here. The location is rural, but close to local shops and ammenities. It was lovely to see newborn lambs and calves in the fields and the views were great from this elevated position. The cottages is cosy and warm with an excellent log burner and comfortable lounge. The kitchen is brand new and well laid out with everything you could possibly need.There are two first class showers and a bath which again are immaculate. The beds are very comfortable, afford a good nights sleep and have lovely views across open countryside. The garden and outdoor sitting area was also most welcome. All in all, I would recommend a stay at this cottage. I wish we could have stayed longer!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. We have had a busy winter totally transforming Heron View into what it is today. We have listened and learned and we are delighted with the end product. The four legged neighbours are really quite friendly too! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

herron view

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
stayed at Herron view for a family holiday. Six adults one baby and a dog the cottage had everything that was needed including a highchair and travel cot.Donald was very helpful and he was the other end of the phone if we needed anything.
The cottage was warm and had plenty of space for us all and an amazizing view out of all the Windows nothing but. Countryside waking up to The sounds of the farm animals seemed to have a calming effect on us all even the dog.plenty to do out and around town the pubs was welcoming and so baby and dog freindly .we are already planning our next holiday hear highly reccomended.thank you for a great stay .




Excellent and comfortable accomodation

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is for feedback to the owner not publication.
The lock on the front door is quite awkward.? lubrication would
be helpful.
Remove leaves from gutters to prevent dampness in the walls. Torrential rain meant walls(in places) and windows were streaming with water.
We were very pleased to stay at Heron's view. Lovely holiday, Kirkudbright delightful,




family get together

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were six family members all retired visiting Kirkcudbright for a 70th birthday. Location was excellent and when not using the car taxis were available to take us into Kirkcudbright. Accommodation spacious and comfortable .Quiet except for animal noises . Seating outside handy for enjoying a glass of wine in the sunshine. The only drawback was only one bathroom in cottage. A second toilet would have been much appreciated.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are in the process of making plans to refurbish 'Heron View' which will encompass a second bathroom. We always listen to all productive feedback that we receive from our guests in order to keep improving. Hopefully you can come back next year to see the improvements!!

Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our first stay in this part of the world, with our small dog- loved the area- and plan to return.We were very well looked after by the owners. The cottage is comfortable and cozy. I think Heron Views nearing an update. Carpets, sofas were looking a bit tied- the adjoining properties look to have had some refurbishment



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you all at the weekend. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The only way to improve in this business is from customer feedback. I will take these comments and look to see where we as a family can move forward. We hope to see you again.

My stay at Heron view.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I am Disabled and found Heron View easy, quiet, and peacefull [except for the Animal noises] it was above all the best place to be for me, Stewart.MAC



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We class your neighbours in the field as an added extra which comes absolutely free!! I'm sure they would like to see you again at some point, as would we!

highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a peaceful location. Well heated. Lovely scenery surrounding the house. Loved staying here and would definitely recommend this place.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad you enjoyed your weekend and Laggan Outdoor staff looked after you well! We hope to see you all again.

Just Right

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed to spend the week in Dumfries. We found the location just right, not too far away for our daily travel in. The cottage was like a home from home. With a toddler with us it was easy to keep her occupied either inside or outside looking at the wildlife. We found the cottage perfectly clean & tidy. And having arrived late it was great to see tea, coffee & a fresh pint of milk to welcome us and see us through til morning. The village if Kirkcudbright was just a mile away with all necessary emmenties and a Tesco that fulfilled all our needs. There is a good choice if takeaways and some great friendly pubs. Definitely recommend and should we need to return then would not hesitate to book again.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments and the cracking photo. We would like to boast that the sun always shines at 'High Kirkland' but it may be stretching the truth slightly. We hope to see you again soon!

lovely location, spotless and looking forward to returning for longer !

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heron View was perfect for our long weekend for a family celebration, easy to find in a great location and when we arrived it was spotless, beds were all made up (and comfortable !) and towels provided. The strong shower and big TV were an added bonus and the kitchen had everything we needed. The kids enjoyed playing hide and seek in the house and watching the nesting Herons in the trees opposite come and go.

Thank you for a lovely weekend, we hope to come back for longer next time !




September 2013 review

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location and great layout. However, towels should be provided or at least guests should be informed that no towels are provided. Insufficient amounts of toilet roll, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, etc. The downstairs bedroom was damp.